Bugs and Bass 2015.... is over

A general fishing discussion here.
Coalman

Bugs and Bass 2015.... is over

Post by Coalman »

I've been running this thread yearly since 2008. I live within fifteen minutes of my summer slip on the Squamscott River that feeds my summer play land NH's inland ocean, the Great Bay.

This is my seventieth year trapping lobsters. I have been fishing striped bass regularly since 1990. I've received good feedback because a lot of sportsman don't live close to the salt and they get a chance to experience these adventures.

So please come along and join me in Bugs and Bass 2015

06-08-15
Who's idea was it anyway to end the Maine spring gobbler season on 06-06-15? Don't they know there are striped bass to catch and lobsters to trap? Gonna have to talk to that guy.

Well it wouldn't do any good though because I am not ready. Yesterday was the first morning I have slept in on a weekend since the NH Youth Turkey Hunt in April. Not complaining, just been too tired to start a boat project when I was having so much fun in the woods.

It has been five season since I had the bottom painted on the USS Coalman. When inspecting the hull before putting it up last winter there were some spots showing barnacle accumulation.

So last week she went up on stands.

Saturday I left Maine turkey camp and was home by 0900. My first stop was to see if there were any herring in the river. I need lobster bait.

The river was full of blue backs. As the picture goes from light to dark is because where it was dark the herring were sideways.

I shot home, grabbed my gear and it didn't take long to get a few buckets.

I salted these down.

Next it was off to the boat yard to pressure wash the hull.

I think I was asleep before my head touched the pillow.
Last edited by Coalman on September 14th, 2015, 12:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Your eye in the northeast sky.
Coalman Blog http://www.coalmansblog.com
Coalman

Re: Bugs and Bass 2015

Post by Coalman »

06-07-15