Thin wall Tru-Choke and TSS?

A discussion about Turkey guns, rifles, black powder, handguns, chokes, cleaning, and accessories.
Jamey

Thin wall Tru-Choke and TSS?

Post by Jamey »

I have an old wingmaster 28 that I would like to turn into my go-to turkey killer. It had a fixed modified barrel and didn't pattern TSS 9 as good as I would like so after making several calls to different gunsmiths, I had Mike Orlean thread it for Tru-Choke.

I ordered an extended extra full from Trulock and it says "lead only" and looks quite thin so my question is does anyone here have any experience shooting TSS through one of these chokes? The flush mount full choke that I got from Mike also says "lead only". I don't really care if the choke sustains a little damage over time because it is replaceable as needed but there doesn't seem to be much meat in the barrel either so hence my concern.

Am I gonna damage the barrel if I shoot TSS? My thoughts are that it will not due to the small size shot and type of wads used but ...?
Turkinator
Gobbler Nation
Gobbler Nation

Re: Thin wall Tru-Choke and TSS?

Post by Turkinator »

I have thin wall tru chokes in a double 12ga and have shot tss through them with no damage. Mine are not extended just flush full.
Hoobilly
Gobbler Nation
Gobbler Nation

Post by Hoobilly »

Don’t shoot large Tss shot and don’t shoot huge payloads and you should be fine
Don't start none, won't be none!

https://foxtrotammo.com/
Shooter
Gobbler Nation
Gobbler Nation

Post by Shooter »

Shoot a few through it, and then see how it screws out. If it got tight, then, no go.
I have a 20 with Slim Lines in it. Seems to be fine, and they are the thinnest.
SumToy

Post by SumToy »

Shooter wrote: January 31st, 2019, 2:05 am Shoot a few through it, and then see how it screws out. If it got tight, then, no go.
I have a 20 with Slim Lines in it. Seems to be fine, and they are the thinnest.
What this smart may said.