Shotgun Optics

A discussion about Turkey guns, rifles, black powder, handguns, chokes, cleaning, and accessories.
alpha burnt

Shotgun Optics

Post by alpha burnt »

I have been using a Simmons Prodiamond for about 10 years and have not had a problem with it. With that being said, what recommendations do you all have for a turkey scope. Presently looking for one to put on a Winchester SXP 20 gauge. What eye relief do you all find necessary? What power, mine was a 4 fixed with 32mm objective? Anyone using one of the small 20mm objectives?
hookedspur
Gobbler Nation
Gobbler Nation

Re: Shotgun Optics

Post by hookedspur »

Leupold 2X7
K9Doc

Post by K9Doc »

Nikon TURKEYPRO BTR. 1.65-5X
Best ever made. Have 4 currently and 2
For sale
KPcalls

Post by KPcalls »

The first scope I had was a Simmons 4x pro diamond scope. It's a good inexpensive scope, but a fixed 4x is in my opinion not the way to go. I have a variable power Leupold and a Nikon scope on my guns now. I would buy another Simmons but it would be the variable power model.
vaturkey
Gobbler Nation
Gobbler Nation

Post by vaturkey »

hookedspur wrote:Leupold 2X7

This :thumbup:
alpha burnt

Post by alpha burnt »

I purchased that one on a smokin' deal from Natchez, came with a box of Fed Premiums if I remember correctly? My thoughts on fixed power is there are less moving parts that are subjected to a shotgun blast, less to go wrong. Do the variable powers just help with identification of turkeys features (beard or spurs) or do you all really dial them up on 6 or 7 when hunting? I could see where the higher magnification would be of benefit when sighting in and patterning though.
KPcalls

Post by KPcalls »

I like the variable power because 4x is too much for me, and lower power also gives you more field of view. The only time I use the higher settings is sighting in.