Gun Oil: My Pick and Reasons Why

A place to discuss Hunting equipment and other related products.
Sloppy_Snood

Gun Oil: My Pick and Reasons Why

Post by Sloppy_Snood »

As a degreed chemist, I can tell you not all lubricants are created equal. As such, I have tooled around in stores, the internet, machine shops, mechanics' shops, etc. looking for one of "the best" gun oil lubricants.

While many "decent" gun oils are available, most have their shortcomings. In particular, oil break down under high temperature and shearing, ability to remain "fee-flowing" at cold temperatures, and having adequate adherence to metal surfaces for retaining "thin films" (of oil/additive).

In my search I did identify a very interesting video that seems to validate (with PROOF!) my good experiences with a particular gun oil from the Steel Shield Technologies, Inc. company called WeaponShield. Watch this:

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j2qtf2yVH0g[/youtube]

I have previously used the Shooter's Choice FP-10 gun oil with great success for many years (i.e. it is a great gun oil ;) ) but never really liked the base oil in the formulation (plain mineral oil) and desired to "discover" the best gun oil money could buy. Tall task but after talking to lubrication engineers and A LOT of reading and research and now a year's worth of actual field use, I can honestly convey that WeaponShield (WS) is the real deal.

I have run WS on the range, shooting competition, storage in the gun safe, and sluggunning in the Indiana fall rain. This last year's WS experiences range from single digit temepratures through the extreme 108 degree F summer heat of 2012: zero semi-automatic shotgun malfunctions due to lubrication issues. Combine this with its 100% non-toxic composition and small physical amount of WS used for gun lubrication, it is a "Win-Win" product.

LINK: WeaponShield CLP Gun Oil (Click Here)

WS appears to be cheapest via mail order at Watts Truck Center: