Best advise

Turkey hunting tips & tricks that have worked & can help others.
dirt road ninja

Best advise

Post by dirt road ninja »

I was wondering, what's the best advise y'all gotten from a friend about turkey hunting? My dad never was big into hunting, but would take me when I asked. It was always the blind leading the blind until I started to learn things myself. Even though most of my friends deer hunt hardly any at all turkey hunt, so I rarely have anybody to talk to at the camp about it. Just about everything I learn about turkey hunting I learned through failure. A few years ago a ran into a older gentleman who told me "Russ, you can't kill a turkey a turkey has to kill himself." After thinking about it that's the best piece of advise anyone has ever giving me.
guesswho
Gobbler Nation
Gobbler Nation

Re: Best advise

Post by guesswho »

My family and I are pretty much self taught as well, starting in the mid 60's. Over the years two or three statements stick in my mind.

1. Respect his ears as much as his eyes.

2. Fool his eyes and ears and his brain will believe.

3. You probably ain't going to kill him where he don't want to be.
Double Naught Spy!
RCD's Owner----------------Badonka Deke Prostaff
MoHo's Prostaff-------------Lighter Than HTL Shooter
The Storm Whistle Prostaff
Official Member Of The Unofficial Firedup Turkey Calls Prostaff
HuntnMa
Gobbler Nation
Gobbler Nation

Post by HuntnMa »

Go to the gobble...............just go man, goooooooooooooooo...

Amen Guesswho ;)
Grover
Gobbler Nation
Gobbler Nation

Post by Grover »

A very good friend told me 20 years ago, DON'T ever start turkey hunting, it'll getcha and it's bad.

I didn't listen to him then, and I'm glad I didn't, now I believe every word he tells me.

right on, guesswho
"INFIDEL"
ArkansasDon

Post by ArkansasDon »

sit still
Camo Solutions http://www.camo-solutions.com
Red Hawk Archery Pro Staff http://www.redhawk-archery.com
Gobbler
Gobbler Nation
Gobbler Nation

Post by Gobbler »