MT upland hunt with the family

A general discussion area for turkey hunters.
hobbes

MT upland hunt with the family

Post by hobbes »

All my kids were out of school for Thursday and Friday for an annual teacher's conference, so I took the opportunity to haul all of us and the dogs east to chase roosters, huns, and sharpies (but mostly roosters). In addition to the mixed bag upland opportunities, I brought a rifle along for the youth deer season. We left out really early Thursday morning and stopped at a WMA an hour before our final destination.
It was a chore to unpack everything without actually unloading the SUV, but I finally got everyone ready and we let the quivering dogs hit the ground.
Kassie the rookie. Kassie actually got in a few hunts last year that I posted.
Cash the veteran. I told about how Cash came to be our dog back in March. He's an experienced dog, but this is my first year hunting with him.
We saw one hen pheasant but no roosters. I'm sure there were some there, but we had no luck finding them.

My plan was to stop and hunt a couple more places on our way to the hotel, but we were well behind schedule, very tired from driving, and adjustments have to be made when traveling with the family. Our only stop between the short hunt and the hotel was to unpack the cooler and eat a sandwich and drink a soda.